E.L.F. Flawless Finish Foundation

Image

I’ve recently realized that I’ve never worn foundation. So, I did my research, trying to find a good yet inexpensive foundation, just in case I did not care for it. The one I came across was Elf’s Flawless Finish Foundation which I purchased from a local Target for only $6. I have used Elf products before so I assumed that this foundation line would be perfect. However it’s a disappointment considering the other Elf products I’ve fallen in love with.

First I’ll explain the pros:

Packaging is everything! I don’t know about ya’ll but when I buy a product, I like to look over the packaging. If it’s sloppily put together, an evident lack of thought or just cheap, I won’t even buy it. Fortunately, this foundation is packaged well. The foundation is in a 0.8 fl. oz. glass bottle. It is rectangular in shape and very sturdy. And a big pro is that it’s dispensed by a pump. This is perfect to control how much comes out at once opposed to just pouring it to the back of your hand and watching run down your arm.

Aside from the packaging, the price is perfection! It’s only $6. Who could argue with such a low price? All of Elf’s products are wonderfully priced so buying a foundation for only $6 was not a problem whatsoever.

Another pro is that is glides easily on the skin. I’ve found that any cream based product seems to be easier to apply so I truly appreciate that this is a cream foundation. Unfortunately, this is where the pros end.

On to the cons:

The whole foundation line in general is very neutrally colored. This would be perfect if my skin did not have such a red undertone, however this isn’t the case. I looked over all the colors that were on the shelf and noticed that not only did my particular shade have somewhat of a dull yellow tone but so did all the others. This is very disappointing. It makes me wonder why a make up company would make the assumption that everyone is capable of pulling of neutral foundation. Nevertheless, I decided to try it anyway because it was only $6.

As I stated as one of my pros, this foundation has a cream base, which I love. But don’t be fooled by the cream. The packaging says it is oil free but this is false because the back of the package has a list of ingredients. Of course it’s nothing but big scientific names so, I felt obligated to do more research on the product to know exactly what I’ve applied to my face. Upon further research, I found out that one of the ingredients is mineral OIL. Now, for a product that claims to be oil free, I’m pretty sure there isn’t supposed to be mineral oil mixed in there, right? In addition to the oil, I already have somewhat oily skin, so finding out that a make up advertised as oil free really has oil in it makes me feel like I’ve been trick.

And to keep my list of cons short, I’ll conclude with this one. Of course no one wants to touch their face only to see a hand smeared with almond colored foundation. I applied the foundation before doing this review just to see how my skin reacted to it. However, as time went on, the foundation seems to be slipping off. It’s nothing drastic as if I’m melting but no girl wants to see their make up come off not even two hours after applying it.

Now, it is possible that this is a skewed review because I don’t wear foundation but I would love to know others experience with this product and the whole line in general. Let me know how the foundation has worked with you, your tone and type of skin. Also if you know of any other good and inexpensive foundations, please let me know. I would love to try them!

Thanks for reading my first make up review! Let me know what you think of it. All comments, questions and critique are welcome.

-Dani

2 thoughts on “E.L.F. Flawless Finish Foundation

  1. You should start with a make line like Fashion Fair, or M.A.C. Go to one of these counter and let them tell you which would be best for you skin. Have them do a make up session to see how you like it. Then go from there.

    • Thanks for reading!

      I wanted to start with mac but that’s a bit pricey. Plus I didn’t want to spend too much if I wasn’t sure how much I would like foundation lol.

Leave a Reply

